Even the most law-abiding and disciplined amongst us can falter occasionally.
After a great night with friends, it’s easy to put your guard down. You feel like you’re ‘in control’ and think you’re ‘all right to drive’. But when an officer pulls you over, suspecting you’re drunk, it can mean seriously unpleasant consequences, including up to a year of jail time.
Kansas has tough laws on DUI/DWI. It is a criminal offense and carries stiff penalties. We hear about DUI cases so often in the media and around us, it seems like a trivial offense. But don’t brush this off as something unimportant. If not handled skillfully, a conviction could haunt you for life.
A Strong Legal Defense
At the Swain Law Office, we know that your time is valuable. A lapse of judgement can take away the peace of your everyday life for a long period.
Our attorneys have handled thousands of DUI/DWI cases and have a sharp insight on how to challenge the forensic evidence against you.
Equipped with the knowledge and experience of this kind of offense, you can trust us to help reduce the penalties or get the case dismissed altogether.
We are available for you at any time of the day, and even in jail if necessary. Don’t lose any time hoping the charges will go away on their own. For a free initial consultation, call us now.
We Tackle Each Case Aggressively, and Meticulously. Have an Expert DUI Lawyer Help You Before It’s Too Late.
Call THE SWAIN LAW OFFICE Toll Free At 1-866-550-2787
What the Law Says:
According to state law, by getting a Kansas driver’s license, you are giving consent to submit a breath, blood, or urine test to a law enforcement official, if suspected of being drunk while driving. If you refuse to take the test, your license will be suspended for one year, and you will be charged for the offense, separate than the ‘drunken under influence’ charge.
A person with a regular non-commercial driver’s license can be placed under arrest if their blood alcohol content is 0.08 or higher. A commercial driver’s license holder can be placed under arrest if their blood alcohol content is 0.04 or higher, while operating a commercial vehicle.
Additionally, the state of Kansas has ‘zero tolerance’ for blood alcohol content of 0.02 or higher, for someone who is under 21 years of age.
First time offenders may have their license suspended for up to a year, be fined for approximately $500 to $1,000 or higher, along with community service or jail time and attendance at a mandatory alcohol and drug education program.
Subsequent offenders may have their license suspended for multiple years or permanently, along with higher fines and a lengthier jail sentence.
If you are convicted of DUI, and at the time were carrying a child younger than 14 years in the car with you, your mandatory jail time will increase by 1 month.
A DUI Charge Is Not A Trivial One
The humiliation of jail time, community service, license suspension, hefty fines are just some of the consequences of a DUI/DWI conviction. There are still court costs, supervision fees, and increases in insurance rates that come with it. The criminal record can follow you for life.We are available for you at any time of the day, and even in jail if necessary. Don’t lose any time hoping the charges will go away on their own. For a free initial consultation, call us now.