A version of Jessica’s Law was passed in 2006 by the Kansas Legislature. It is informally named after nine-year old Jessica Lunsford, who was raped and murdered by an already registered sex offender who lived across her street. The case prompted a bill that seriously increased the punishment of child sex offenders, even for first-timers. Legislation similar to Jessica’s Law has been passed in multiple states throughout the country, including Kansas.Few would object to this kind of law that gives greater protection to children.
But it’s not quite as simple.
What if you are an 18-year-old boy who comes across an online chat room? Say you get involved in a conversation with a girl who says she’s 18 as well, but in reality is either much younger, or even worse, an undercover police officer. You continue talking to her, feeling great that you’ve connected with someone. You become more curious about her and exchange photographs online. You’re old enough. She looks old enough, says she is old enough, and says she wants to meet you. You agree. You meet…
Jessica’s Law can put you in prison for a minimum of 25 years of your life, with no possibility of parole, regardless of a clean history.
Do You Believe You Deserve a Second Chance? We Do.
We Will Go To All Lengths To Prove Your Innocence
Call The Swain Law Office Now at 1-866-550-2787
What the Law Says
Kansas law states has a mandatory 25 year to life sentence for first time sex offenders, where the victim is a child under 14 years of age and the offender is 18 years of age or older. The sex offenses that could make a defendant eligible for a sentence under Jessica’s Law include, but are not limited to, rape, sodomy, and aggravated indecent liberties with a child.
For specific sex offenses, the law provides a minimum of 40 years. Life imprisonment without the possibility of parole is awarded to those classified as aggravated habitual sex offenders. The law also requires electronic monitoring for life, for certain sex offenders.
There is No Room For Mistakes
At The Swain Law Office, we understand the ramifications of Jessica’s Law and how it takes all discretion away from judges and prosecutors.
Because of this, we take a “no-holds-barred” and “no stone unturned”
approach to defending clients in the Kansas City metropolitan area and throughout the state of Kansas, whose cases now fall under the provisions of Jessica’s Law.
Our attorneys will subpoena records such as medical examination results and mental health histories of the accuser. We work with private investigators and others to gather and preserve any evidence that could possibly be used to establish a defense for you or have the charges against you re-classified.
A Strong Defense Strategy
No one can ever guarantee an outcome in court. But if your case does go to trial, our attorneys’ proven trial skills and dexterity will protect your rights to the maximum extent.
If you have been accused of rape or charged with the possession of child pornography, call or contact our offices today without further ado for a free consultation. Our lawyers will help you understand Kansas’ sex offender laws, and would be happy to answer any questions you may have about your case.